Ascension Parish Fire District 3 opens

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen

Ascension Parish Fire District #3 held a Ribbon Cutting Ceremony on Tuesday, August 8th to celebrate the opening of their new location in Ascension Parish at 18345 Bluff Road, Prairieville.

Ascension Parish Fire District #3 provides fire and EMS service to the Fire District #3 area.

Attending the Ribbon Cutting for Ascension Parish Fire District #3 were Fire Chief Mark Stewart, Deputy Chief Raymond Poche, District #3 Board Chairman Walter Leftwich, District #3 Board Members Tracy Burns and Gary Newmand, Treasurer Joe Carona and Chief James Cooper. Also in attendance were District 18 Senator Eddie Lambert, District 59 Representative Tony Bacala, Ascension Parish Government President Kenny Matassa, Ascension Parish Government Public Information Officer Martin McConnell, Ascension Parish Councilwoman Teri Casso, Ascension Parish Assessor Mert Smiley, Ascension Chamber of Commerce President and CEO Sherrie Despino, Ascension Parish Chamber of Commerce Board Member Michael Buturla along with Chamber Ambassadors and Ascension Parish Fire District #3 family and friends.

If you would like more information on Ascension Parish Fire District #3, please call 225-673-6663, email or visit their website For more information on the Ascension Chamber of Commerce, please visit, or call 225-647-7487.

Contributed Report