School Support Employees of the Year honored

School News Report
Support staffers of the year

The 2016 Support Employees of the Year were recognized by the Ascension Parish School Board. Awards were given to one support employee from each school plus one outstanding employee in each division: primary/elementary school, middle school and high school.

"Our support employees play such an integral role in the success of our school district. Many times, they are the first and last faces our students see from our bus drivers to office staff to food service to facility maintenance and classroom support. These individuals make a difference every day," said Ascension Public Schools Superintendent A. Denise Graves.

Duplessis Primary School Cafeteria Manager Toni Elder was named the 2016 Elementary School Support Employee of the Year for Ascension Parish. Elder has worked in the food industry for 25 years, eight of which have been at Duplessis Primary School. Gonzales Middle School A Secretary Narva Williams was named the 2016 Middle School Support Employee of the Year for Ascension Parish. Williams began as a guidance clerk at Gonzales Middle almost 30 years ago and is in her third year as an A Secretary. This past year she achieved the first ever perfect financial audit for Gonzales Middle. St. Amant High School Bus Driver Arlean Duhe is the 2016 High School Support Employee of the Year for Ascension Parish. Duhe began her career in Ascension Public Schools working in the cafeteria for seven years before becoming a bus driver, a position she has held for the last nine years. She drives routes for St. Amant High and Lake Elementary, plus transports the children of STA teachers to Lake each morning.

Other honored support staff were Floyd McGalliard, III, bus driver, Ascension Head Start; Sabrina Clay, paraprofessional, G.W. Carter Primary; David Tapp, paraprofessional, Central Primary; Claire Cassard, library clerk, Donaldsonville Primary; Monique Kline, ISSP aide, Dutchtown Primary; Tui Creel, paraprofessional, Galvez Primary; Grace Hall, custodian, Gonzales Primary; Bobbie Elisar, paraprofessional, Lakeside Primary; Mona Becnel, secretary, Lowery Elementary; Erma Albert, facility manager, Oak Grove Primary; Leslie Buratt, secretary, Pecan Grove Primary; Margell Munson, custodian, Prairieville Primary; Kitty Landry, SFS technician, Sorrento Primary; Allison DesRoches, secretary, Spanish Lake Primary; Rachel Welch, paraprofessional, St. Amant Primary; Gwen LeBlanc, paraprofessional, Central Middle; Stephanie Barnes, secretary, Dutchtown Middle; Erin Lalonde, paraprofessional, Galvez Middle; John Alex Abbott, custodian, Lake Elementary; Kim Brown, secretary, Lowery Middle; Lucinda "Lucy" Babin, guidance clerk, Prairieville Middle; Barbara LeBourgeois, paraprofessional, St. Amant Middle; Gerri Carter, secretary, APPLe Digital Academy; Shirell Oatis, library aide, Donaldsonville High; Patricia Jones, secretary, Dutchtown High; and Tracy Bourgeois, secretary, East Ascension High.