LeBlanc’s Food Stores announce 2011 scholarship winners

Staff reports
Pictured from left to right: Randy LeBlanc, Mayra Gudino (East Ascension), Kaitlin McClure (St. Amant), Jennifer Woodard (Zachary), and Marcy LeBlanc. Cody Hood (Assumption), Mallory McMorris (Doyle), and Caleb Alexander (Dutchtown) are not pictured.

LeBlanc’s Food Stores along with the Baton Rouge Area Foundation announces the 2011 recipients of the M. Paul and Janice LeBlanc Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship, which assists students with their college education, was established in January of 2001 by the LeBlanc family in honor of the deceased M. Paul LeBlanc who valued education and community service. The LeBlanc family added Janice LeBlanc’s name to the scholarship after she passed away on May 25, 2010.

Six students who will graduate high school this month were chosen to receive a $500 scholarship to be used towards their college education. 

The 2011 winners are Caleb Alexander of Prairieville who attends Dutchtown High School, Mayra Gudino of Gonzales who attends East Ascension High School, Cody Hood of Napoleonville who attends Assumption High School, Kaitlin McClure of St. Amant who attends St. Amant High School, Mallory McMorris of Livingston who attends Doyle High School, and Jennifer Woodard of Zachary who attends Zachary High School. Mayra Gudino and Jennifer Woodard are also employees of LeBlanc’s Food Stores.

LeBlanc’s Food Stores currently operates eight full service supermarkets in the parishes of Ascension, Assumption, Iberville, Livingston, Tangipahoa, and the City of Zachary. Any high school senior that is a resident of these parishes is encouraged to apply for the 2012 scholarship through the Baton Rouge Area Foundation website, www.braf.com. The deadline to apply is March 30, 2012.