St. Theresa Middle Cheerleaders invited to perform in Thanksgiving Day Parade in Houston

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen
St. Theresa Middle cheerleaders participated in a clinic conducted by two UCA cheerleaders.  At the Clinic's end, the UCA cheerleaders announced the names of the cheerleaders selected to participate in the 2014 Macy's parade on Thanksgiving Day.  The St. Theresa Middle cheerleaders who will participate include the following:  (left to right) Madison Morgan, Madison Mistretta, Brooke LeBoeuf, Madison Chaix, and Emma Schexnaydre.

St. Theresa Middle students Madison Morgan, Madison Mistretta, Brooke LeBoeuf, Madison Chaix, and Emma Schexnaydre in Gonzales, are several of more than 300 elementary, junior high, and high school cheerleaders and dancers from across the U.S. who have been invited to perform in the 64th H-E-B Holiday Parade on Thanksgiving Day in Houston, Texas, one of the oldest Thanksgiving Day parades in the country.

The individuals invited to perform in the parade are cheerleading and dance All-Americans selected from Varsity’s summer camps throughout the country, including Universal Cheerleaders Association (UCA), Universal Dance Association (UDA), National Cheerleaders Association (NCA), National Dance Alliance (NDA) and American Cheerleaders Association (ACA).

All-Americans were selected via tryout based on the superior cheerleading or dance skills they showed at camp. Only the top 12% of the cheerleaders and dancers who attended Varsity camps have earned the chance to march in a holiday parade of this caliber. The UCA cheerleader coaches who acted as judges were Sydney Alexander and Ardean Leonard.

Morgan, Mistretta, LeBoeuf, Chaix, and Schexnaydre are invited to perform with the Varsity All-American group in the annual Thanksgiving Day festivities through the heart of downtown Houston for tens of thousands of spectators lining the parade route. The event is televised in the Houston area, and syndicated throughout the United States.

The Varsity All-American program is celebrating its 27th year of choosing camp standouts. For more information, visit