Eleven Louisiana nursing facilities nationally recognized

Staff Writer
Gonzales Weekly Citizen

Eleven nursing facilities in Louisiana have been nationally recognized for providing award-winning, quality care by the American Health Care Association and the National Center for Assisted Living (AHCA/NCAL), the national professional certification agencies. These facilities were each selected as 2018 Silver – Achievement in Quality Award recipients, earning exceptional honors for their dedication to improving quality care for residents and patients in long term and post-acute care. Criteria for the award is based on quality metrics such as readmission rates, hospitalization rates and workforce performance.

Recipients of the distinguished Silver – Achievement in Quality Award include:

---Ascension Oaks Nursing and Rehabilitation Center, LLC (Gonzales, LA)

---Gonzales Healthcare Center (Gonzales, LA)

---Jefferson Manor (Baton Rouge, LA)

---Landmark Nursing and Rehabilitation Center (West Monroe, LA)

---Magnolia Manor (Shreveport, LA)

---Maison Jardin (Morgan City, LA)

---Many Healthcare and Rehabilitation Center (Many, LA)

---Naomi Heights Nursing and Rehabilitation Center (Alexandria, LA)

---Oak Haven Community Care Center (Center Point, LA)

---Old Jefferson Community Care Center (Baton Rouge, LA)

---Riviere de Soleil Community Care Center (Mansura, LA)

This announcement demonstrates that nursing facilities in Louisiana excel when compared to facilities in other states,” said Mark Berger, executive director of the Louisiana Nursing Home Association. “In fact, only two states in the nation had more facilities receive the award. I am proud to have so many facilities recognized for their efforts in meeting the complex needs of their community by going above and beyond to provide exceptional health care services. I commend the facility’s staff and leadership for their continuous hard work and dedication and look forward to continuing our work to provide the best care possible for Louisiana’s most vulnerable population.”

Implemented by AHCA/NCAL in 1996, the National Quality Award Program is centered on the core values and criteria of the Baldrige Performance Excellence Program, which is the foundation of the metric-based AHCA/NCAL Quality Initiative. The program has three levels: Bronze, Silver, and Gold. 2018 recipients of the Silver award can now advance in further developing comprehensive strategies that meet the criteria required for the Gold – Excellence in Quality Award.

Award recipients will be honored during AHCA/NCAL’s 69th Annual Convention and Exposition in San Diego, California on October 7-10, 2018.

Contributed by the Louisiana Nursing Home Association