AEDC hires Interim President/CEO

Staff Report

The Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) Board of Directors announces the resignation of J. Michael Eades effective November 15, 2016. He will be relocating to Lexington Country, South Carolina, to serve as the Director of Economic Development. During the public meeting held Monday, November 7th at the AEDC office Mr. Johnny Berthelot was named as Interim President/CEO until a permanent replacement can be found.

"I am certainly sorry to see Mike go as we have enjoyed unprecedented economic activity and growth under his direction. We are also fortunate to have Johnny's experience in management and economic matters to carry us until a new President is in place. We will conduct a professional search to find the best fit for our organization. " Dwight Poirrier, Ascension Economic Development Corporation Board of Directors Chair.

The Ascension Economic Development Corporation (AEDC) was formed for the expressed purposes of diversifying the economy, increasing the tax base and creating quality, permanent jobs by encouraging the expansion of existing enterprises in Ascension Parish, Louisiana, the attraction of new enterprises and to work hand in hand with elected and appointed leaders to maintain and improve the business climate in the Parish.

AEDC was created by the Ascension Chamber of Commerce, the City of Gonzales and the Parish of Ascension. Incorporated in the State of Louisiana on June 1, 2005 under the provisions of Chapter 27, Part I of Title 35 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes of 1950 as amended and federally chartered under I.R.S. Code 501 (C)(6), AEDC is a private nonprofit corporation pursuant to the Louisiana Nonprofit Corporation Law, Chapter 2 of Title 12 of the Louisiana Revised Statutes as amended.

AEDC is governed by a fourteen (14) member Board of Directors. These fourteen members serve without compensation and are appointed for three (3) year terms by the following entities The Ascension Chamber of Commerce: Four Members -The Ascension Parish Council: Two Voting Members & Two Non-Voting Members and The Ascension Parish President: One Voting Member -The City of Gonzales Council: One Voting Member & One Non-Voting Member -The City of Donaldsonville: One Non-Voting Member -The Donaldsonville Chamber of Commerce: One Voting Member -The Town of Sorrento: One Non-Voting Member.