Leadership Ascension introduces 15th class

Michael Tortorich
Shown from left, top row, are Darryl Smith, Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office; Cody Melancon, Ascension Parish Sheriff’s Office; Aubert Waguespack, Waguespack & Associates Insurance, Inc.; Brandon O’Deay, Ascension Parish Government; Jeff Miller, BASF Corp.; Dan Wanko, Morgan Keegan/Regions; Miles Holley, Treads & Care Tire Company; and Terry Martin, River Parishes Community College. Pictured bottom row are April McKey, Ascension Parish Clerk of Court’s Office; Darla Nixon, Re/Max First Ascension; Karen Long, Associate Member; Monique Ravey, BASF Corp.; Donna Shaheen, ENTERGY; and Virginia Snedeker, Cox Communications.

The Ascension Chamber of Commerce announced its 15th Leadership Ascension class Aug. 12 during an introduction reception held at The Grande Pavilion in Prairieville.

Leadership Ascension, like similar programs nationwide, is designed to develop responsible and informed community leaders, according to the Chamber.

Recognized and emerging leaders in the community are selected to represent the diverse demographic of the Ascension Parish community.

The ten-month program strives to develop practical leadership skills while promoting personal growth. 

Sessions are held each month and cover topics including Diversity, Education, Social Concerns, Health Care, Law Enforcement and Government. 

The program ends with a two-day closing retreat where the students review the year, share their thoughts on Ascension Parish and present class projects that are developed throughout the year.

More than 350 individuals have completed the program since its inception. 

Many of them participate on the Chamber of Commerce Leadership Alumni committee that assists in planning, recruiting and fund-raising for the renowned program.

For more information, contact the Chamber at 225-647-7487.

Shown from left, top row, are Mike Eades, Ascension Economic Development Corporation; Mike Dixon, EATEL; T. Lynn Chance, GSA, Inc.; Charlie Carmouche, Fife-Spaht-Carmouche Insurance; Ken Brass, BASF Corp.; Micheal Dawkins, St. Elizabeth Hospital; and Donny Haynes, Cox Communications. Pictured bottom row are Brandi Buturla, St. James Place; Julie Bourgeois, United Community Bank; Sally Diez, Postlethwaite & Netterville; Christine Caluag, Harry & David; Shawn Duplessis, Community Opportunities of East Ascension; Bridget Boudreaux, Ascension Parish School Board; and Alice Heath, St. Elizabeth Physicians.