Berthelot appointed to St. Elizabeth Hospital Board

Staff reports
Johnny Berthelot

Johnny Berthelot, former Mayor of Gonzales, has been appointed to St. Elizabeth Hospital’s Board of Directors effective January 2009.

 “It is an honor and a privilege to be able to work with Johnny in this new capacity,” said St. Elizabeth Hospital President and CEO Dee LeJeune. “Johnny has been a key supporter of the hospital in his role as mayor. He brings a wealth of knowledge about our area, and he is well respected in the community.”

Berthelot served as Mayor of Gonzales for 24 years. He is a member of numerous organizations including the Gonzales Rotary Club and the Gonzales Lions Club. He currently is employed with the Ascension Economic Development Corporation. He also serves on the boards of the Southern Municipal Conference and American Gateway Bank. 

St. Elizabeth Hospital’s other board members are: Chair, Hickley Waguespack, RehabCare Group, retired; Vice-Chair, Kevin Schexnayder, City President, Whitney National Bank; Secretary Bill Martin, PhD, Executive Vice Chancellor, River Parishes Community College; Sr. Martha Ann Abshire, Franciscan Missionaries of Our Lady; Robert Burgess, President and CEO, EATEL; Deborah Cavalier, MD, Pathology; Mike Cohen Senior Vice President and General Manager, BASF; John Fraiche, MD, President, St. Elizabeth Physicians; John Knapp, MD, Internal Medicine and Pediatrics; Dee LeJeune, President and CEO, St. Elizabeth Hospital; K.E. Mathew, MD, General Surgery; Anthony Nobile, Attorney-At-Law; Robert Ryland Percy, III, Senior Managing Partner, Percy, Stromberg, Bush, and Lanoux Attorneys-At-Law; Donald Songy, Superintendent, Ascension Parish Schools; Chris Trevino, MD, Emergency Medicine; and Dawn Zitman, MD, Pediatrics.